How To Fix: Elan Touchpad Not Working While Keys Are Pressed/Held [Windows 10]

While using a laptop touchpad, I tend to use AutoHotKey to bind my mouse buttons to the keyboard. After a Windows update, the touchpad would stop responding after I pressed and held any key on the keyboard. This became a big problem for me so I was forced to find a solution and I think it is very important for this information to be available for everyone to see.

Step 1: Go to Control Panel and search Touchpad. Select the option that comes at the top.

Search "touchpad" in Control Panel
Search “touchpad” in Control Panel

Step 2: Open the “Additional” tab.

Click the "Additional" Tab
Click the “Additional” Tab

Step 3: Scroll all the way down to “TP Rejection” and click on it. Uncheck the checkbox that says “Enable”. Your touchpad should start responding after you press any keys.

Uncheck the "Enable" box
Uncheck the “Enable” box

Leave a comment